Oh, man-dy

Okay, last night’s Angel was wild. “Fred’s evil?” Hee! It’s about damn time somebody noticed! As is typical for me, I’m more interested in the promo for the next episode than the one right before me. So, let’s all get the song stuck in our heads now in preparation for Connor and Angel singing “Jasmine” to the tune of Barry Manilow’s Mandy: Me First and the Gimme Gimmes do Mandy.

Oh, man part two: Y Tu Mama Tambien, the unrated version. Ennnjoyable. I do love realism with regard to coming of age and character study. I couldn’t help but wonder, you know, how they did all those love scenes. I listened to the commentary, but it was all in Spanish. I understood, oh, two words. They talk so fast and all at once that I was lost. But I dreamt in Spanish that night! When I was taking Spanish in college, I would occassionally dream in Spanish. The semester of Spanish that was mostly studying literature and writing papers I would tape myself reading the stories, then play the tape non-stop, including while I slept. It’s amazing what the subconcious picks up. Likewise, I put on the Y Tu Mama commentary and went about picking up the house, doing laundry, letting the dogs out and my general nightly chores. Maybe I should make more of an effort to use my language skills. I could teach myself Fyarl! Wait, I need to set some language priorities. First, master my Irish accent. I’m already well on my way, there. Second, use more Spanish. Third, parlay the Spanish into Italian in preparation for my trip this summer. Last, learn Fyarl. Then maybe I can pick up some Elvish from Hinkle. We can talk bad about everyone in Elvish at all the Buffy Cons. Not that we’d ever!

Leave a Reply

