*quack!*

As previously mentioned, I’m seeing a hypnotherapist to lose weight and get in shape. I’m vain like that. But I’ve also discussed with the hypnotherapist my TMJ. He has an established fitness program, which is three sessions.

Mr. Hypno said that he frequently works in other suggestions not relevant to a person’s program (i.e. “like the taste of fish” in a smoking cessation program), and those work with decent success. In his experience, getting someone to stop grinding their teeth at night is possible in this “freebie slip-in” style, but only with 50 to 60% success. I might do a fourth or fifth session devoted to my TMJ.

When I left my first appointment on Thursday, I wasn’t convinced that I had been hypnotized. I wasn’t convinced that it would work. But so far, I’ve done really well with three of the five suggestions he made: “one half” (eating half your bigger meals like dinner) thing, drinking lots of water, and eating more green veggies. I only had half of my lunch yesterday, but I was starving by 4. The thing to help me not snack isn’t making me feel not starving, I have had no desire to raid the candy jar here at work.

I’ve thought of a few other specific times I tend to snack and what I typically reach for, so that should help with the next session. Next session we also start getting into the suggestion to exercise. Keep your fingers crossed for that.

I guess the most noticeable difference so far is my attitude. I was stuck in a cycle of calling myself gross/fat/disgusting/hideous, then getting motivated to exercise pretty regularly for a few weeks, then I’d start to slip, then I’d try to compensate by eating better, then I’d have my period and blow that off, then I’d beat myself up for failing, then I’d wallow, then I’d start calling myself ugly names in the mirror all over again. Lather, rinse, repeat. I haven’t exercised since my hypnosis session, but I have not once felt the need to beat myself up. I feel confident and in control. And when I see myself naked? I’m not disgusted. I’m more objective. The emotions tied to my weight are, like, gone. I don’t know how else to explain it.

With that in mind, I think I’ll be able to stop grinding my teeth at night. If I can feel about handling stress the way I feel now about handling food, I think I’ll naturally stop the worry and anxiety in my sleep. I hope, anyway.

The hypnotherapist also thinks I look like Renee Zellweger. I don’t, but thanks!

Leave a Reply

