Dim silver linings

On my way home today, I heard a story on NPR about more 9-1-1 tapes from September 11, 2001 being released. I’m glad that family, friends, and other loved ones have more information and possibly some emotional closure. I’m sad that hearing the recording of Mellissa Doi, a woman trapped on the 83rd floor of the south tower (I don’t even know if that was the first or second tower to be hit and collapse. From what I remember of that day, it looked like the tower on the left was hit first, but left doesn’t tell me south or north.) who died while on the phone with the 911 operator.

I live very far away from what happened that day, and the world certainly doesn’t need my emotional out-pourings about this tragedy, but I continue to feel the pain and loss and humanity of that horrible day. I only hope that somewhere, someone is comforted by the fact that many of us continue to share their burden, or would if we could.

This abrupt reminder is why I must focus on my blessings and remember that a year ago, I was contemplating my own death. Today, my biggest complaint is about the job I have that dozens of others would give anything to have.

Leave a Reply

