Oh-Six Recap, Plus Hopes-Dreams: Oh-Seven!

Although I have not celebrated Christmas yet, I plan to do so as soon as my family can pull itself together. I made plans to go out of town this weekend to a big party, but it looks like Sunday is family Christmas. Yay, and crap. Must wrap presents, cancel hotel reservations, and disappoint friends. And buy Dad’s present. And wrap it. This year was tougher for me personally than it should have been, but I’ve learned some valuable and amazing lessons. I’ll be brief (for the sake of your friends pages) but not too brief (for the sake of my future self).

Lesson 1: When someone tells you something about themselves, believe them. For example, that guy she’s dating who says he doesn’t believe in marriage? Will never marry her. That coworker who tells you she’s crazy? Is crazy. My ex who said, “Im crappy?” Was crappy! Listen to what people tell you about themselves.

Lesson 2: I am not a victim. I took on the role of victim for years, but I am not some pathetic, helpless loser. I am fierce!

Lesson 3: Asking for help is OK. People care. I will be focusing on being more social, dating some fabulous people who will see my fabulousness, selling my house, and earning more money. I got a roommate. It happened suddenly, but I’m glad to have someone as nurturing and considerate as my roommate here. He’s going through a tough time personally, and I’m very happy to be able to support him. We’re even talking about renting someplace together after I sell my house! He travels a lot, and I work lots of nights, so we don’t see each other but a few minutes here and there. And, we make each other get out and socialize! The rent money helps, too. A lot. He has zillions of frequent flyer miles, and I get sweet discounts on hotel rooms, so we’re planning on taking the world by storm next year! We’re looking at trips to Florida to visit a mutual friend and Australia.

Tagged ,

Leave a Reply

