Money, power, influence, fiction, and car repairs

So, I love my Mini Cooper, but the poor dear choked on me yesterday afternoon. I was leaving to buy groceries when she wouldn’t start. Luckily I live in an area with plenty of food in walking distance!

My mind immediately assumed that I’d have to have the car towed, but when I called Christian Brothers, the manager suggested that I try jumping it first. I’m so grateful that my neighbor’s boyfriend was willing to assist me! He was tired and groggy this morning, but he jumped my car and then stayed with it while I ran back in and grabbed my purse.

I drove up a few blocks to Christian Brothers (who had earlier suspected that they wouldn’t get to my car today because of their work load and the fact that Minis are notoriously difficult to work on) and they took me back home so I could actually work. I had a conference call scheduled at 11:30 and some stuff to do for another client who wants to launch a campaign this week.

Christian Brothers had to order the battery, but happily, five hours later, my Mini is running again!

While waiting for various car conversations and transactions, I finished the book I started this weekend, The Book of Eleanor: A Novel of Eleanor of Aquitaine. I’m such an Anglophile, how did I never come across this amazing woman before now?! The mother of one of my many favorite English kings and queens, Richard the Lionheart, whose early reign was spent on crusade (apparently at his mother’s behest), during which Robin Hood’s legacy took root. Fascinating!

History does not appear to look kindly on her — she’s mostly portrayed as a power-hungry harlot, but I have no doubt that she was described cruelly by men with less intellect and more greed and political ambition than she. Even now, 900 years later, men still rule the world and resent women of power and influence. A gross generalization, to be sure, but still true.

I cherish the men and women in my life who have worked to change the status quo. I’m continually surpised and disappointed by the people I encounter who deny the fact that women in America still earn only 70 percent of our male counterparts. Eleanor of Aquitaine was one of the richest women in the world, and she made every effort to change the world. Surely she paved the way for so many powerful woman since!

Leave a Reply

