What are you saying to yourself?

Welcome to the annual meeting of the Redundancy Society Meeting this year! Allow myself to introduce myself: I’m Dr. Pete N. Repeat, PhD. We’ll get started at 9 a.m. in the morning with a cash breakfast buffet, so be sure to remember your PIN number when you hit the ATM machine before you get here.

I realized this evening that I have a few sets of mental conversations that I have with myself. A playlist of internal things I tell myself. And just like my iTunes playlists, I have an interesting mix. I have a healthy one, a motivational one, a slightly hard on myself one, and a thorough set of royal beat-downs. I will have these conversations in my head over and over and over. And then I’ll have it with myself again. And then again. Then a couple more times. You get the idea.

Although I’m aware of the help or harm that my internal dialogue has to my mental health, when I get stuck in one of these themes, I find shifting to a healthier playlist to be extremely difficult.

Because my primary audience of my blog is my future self … YOU ONLY NEED THE HEALTHY ONES AND THE MOTIVATIONAL ONES! Happily illustrated by thingsweforget.blogspot.com:

658

Because what I tell myself repeatedly is who I become and how I behave.

I wonder why I find it easier to encourage others than encourage myself. That’s a paradox that deserves its own internal monologue playlist.

Leave a Reply

