Life as a flip flop

A valuable lesson learned: one day you feel like you’re on the bottom, and the next you feel on top. My incredibly creative friend and I were discussing these inevitable ups and downs of life, and we joked about how our situations can “flip flop.” Recently, while spending the day with my charming nieces and sister shopping at NorthPark, I picked up the James Avery flip flop charm. I’m wearing it on my necklace to remind me that in the end, life averages out just fine. Even when you’re sad, miserable, or hopeless — say, your mom has cancer or your dog dies — you can and will bounce back. One day is flop, the next is flip!

After much shopping at NorthPark with my charming sister and nieces, we finished up, and I dropped them off near their car. I looped back to where my car was parked. Immediately, I checked my text messages and responded to a friend’s text message. As I hit “send,” I heard a man say, “HELLO!” so I looked up and there was a 20-something gentleman waving at me. At a glance, I assessed a man walking slightly ahead of a group of people with another man just over his left shoulder shooting film on a small hand-held camera. The two women on his right were discussing “the shot,” and suddenly I felt like I was a part of someone else’s experiment. I wondered if he (or they) were calling out “Hello!” to people who were face-down into their phones. And the Hello Guy was so eager! I smiled at Hello Guy because I loved his smile and friendliness. I laughed after I passed the group, because I suddenly imagined myself in Catfish. Which I recently watched.

Catfish made me wonder. I have a friend who I reconnected with on Facebook. Unlike Nev from the movie, this is a person whose existence I am confident about. But the movie rang some kind of bell. I have an amazing abilty to assign personality traits to people that I barely know, so I wonder if, once again, I’m making “someone awesome” out of just “someone.”

But guess what! I had a work-related chat with my boss who mentioned in passing how we all “see what we want to see” in people, and I know I’m not alone in this. I mean, Liz Gilbert can live a life, write a book, and sell movie rights about emotional projection, so at least I have excellent company. Progetto.

What follows next is the “flip flop” in personal relationships. One day, you’re certain you know a person — of course you do! Everything great about them you have assigned to therm from your own personal list of good-to-great characteristics. The next day, you feel broadsided by issues you expected but didn’t want to face, and suddenly you have a choice to make.

September 11 is my incredibly creative friend‘s birthday. I resent those terrorists for ruining my friend’s birthday. Life is a flip flop.

Leave a Reply

