In love with love: The playlist and additional musing

Some of my recent musings led me to the idea of falling in love with love. So, I made a playlist.

For the Spotify-disabled, here’s the concept:

  • Friends and Lovers – Incubus
  • Can’t Help Falling in Love – Erasure
  • Fell in Love with a Boy – Joss Stone
  • Falling in Love (Uh-Oh) – Miami Sound Machine
  • Brighter Than the Sun – Colbie Callat
  • I Will Possess Your Heart – Death Cab for Cutie
  • It’s the Falling in Love – Michael Jackson
  • Close to Me – The Cure
  • Mad About You – Sting
  • Just a Kiss – Lady Antebellum
  • Crawling Back to You – Daughtry
  • (I Can’t Help) Falling in Love with You – UB40
  • I Wish You Were Here – Incubus
  • Falling in Love Again – Eagle-Eye Cherry
  • Howlin’ for You – The Black Keys
  • Stay with You – Goo Goo Dolls
  • Fascination Street – The Cure
  • Just a Phase – Incubus
  • Bizarre Love Triangle – Stabbing Westard
  • Crash Into Me – Dave Matthews Band
  • Lint of Love – Cibo Matto
  • Love You Like a Love Song – Selena Gomez & The Scene
  • Song in My Heart – Gomez
  • Think I’m in Love – Beck
  • Someday You Will Be Loved – Death Cab for Cutie
  • Pictures of You – The Cure
  • Fields of Gold – Sting
  • I Am in Love with You – Imogen Heap
  • All the Love in the World – Nine Inch Nails

After my Dear Me-adjacent post about myself at 16, a friend raised the question about really writing to our 16-year-old-selves. How much do we divuldge? We agreed that we both get too literal, and fear risking influencing ourselves. I get that the Dear Me project is about encouraging others in the “It Gets Better” vein, but it’s easy for a person like me to turn that concept into wishing for an opportunity to warn myself about my “mistakes,” which would alter my experiences, which would mean I would never know about my mistakes and be able to warn my 16-year-old self, and then my head explodes!

I haven’t been able to listen to my playlist much yet. I was crazy-busy this morning, and spent much of the afternoon in a marathon meeting. But this playlist isn’t rocket science; it’s just a bunch of love songs. I used some covers instead of the originals, even when the originals are my super-favorites, just to bring a little variety to my ears.

Leave a Reply

