Gratitude

I never expected that expressing gratitude for gratefulness would attract more gratitude into my life, but several days ago, I posted my happy thought from my “happy thought of the day” calendar to my Facebook page:

“Feeling grateful or appreciative of someone or something in your life actually attracts more of the things that you appreciate and value into your life.” – Christiane Northrup

Since posting that, I’m seeing, hearing, and experiencing a lot of gratefulness, which is a wonderful thing to experience! It doesn’t hurt that Thanksgiving is, without a doubt, my favorite holiday, and a lot of people are in that thankful frame of mind.

But I’ll take it!

I just want to list a few of the little things that I have experienced recently:

  • Last night I was on the phone with a friend who, for the second time in recent memory, used a random phrase that otherwise only I use when were saying goodnight. I’m grateful to have friend who “speaks my language.” I’m also glad to have this friend because he is the most loyal person I’ve ever known.
  • A friend of mine somewhat randomly texted me that she was grateful for my friendship. Her friendship has been such an answer to a specific prayer that I feel absurd accepting her gratitude, because, really? She’s the one helping me.
  • The inspiration I’ve had from mydailycreativity.wordpress.com.

I’m incredibly blessed with so much more, thankfully, but these are things that have really stood out to me. Sometimes it feels like God is tapping on my window to get my attention. And just writing that reminded me of a post by columnist Jenny Lawson that cracked me up: It’s her and her husband’s hysterical and irreverant take on “When God closes a door, he opens a window.” Don’t click the link if you take yourself (or God, or anything) too seriously.

Tagged

Leave a Reply

