Seasonal soundtrack

Tonight’s soundtrack: 

This reminds me of Mary’s Magnificat, which is timely for those of us who celebrate Christmas.

(I’d love to devolve into a rant about the inaccuracies of the so-called “war on Christmas,” but instead I will perpetuate Christmas for those inclined.)

I’ve ranted written in the past about my favorite Christmas song, but today I like adding U2’s Magnificent to the mix of significant songs. I totally relate to the song’s reference about how love and vulnerability can hurt: “Only love can leave such a mark…” But the message is so faithful and so hopeful that I choose to be bettered for it.

I was born, I was born to sing for you
I didn’t have a choice but to lift you up
And sing whatever song you wanted me to
I give you back my voice from the womb
My first cry, it was a joyful noise, oh, oh
Only love, only love can leave such a mark

When my mom was diagnosed with cancer, I realized that my life’s purpose was to ease her journey. I was born to lift her up, and give her whatever she wanted. She knew me in the womb, so I had to trust what she said she needed from me. She quickly dubbed me “the funny one,” so I pursued that function as if my life depended on it. And it did, as far as I knew. My version of U2’s version of Mary’s Magnificat would be:

I was born, I was born to make you laugh
I didn’t have a choice but to lift you up
And make whatever joke you wanted me to
I give you back my voice from the womb
My first cry, it was a joyful noise
Only love can leave such a mark

“Only love can leave such a mark.” Yeah, it does.

3 thoughts on “Seasonal soundtrack

  1. Yes! This indeed resonates with me! My version of U2’s lyrics…

    I was born, I was born to inspire your spirit
    I didn’t have a choice but to lift you up
    And to create art and words you wanted me to
    I give you back my voice from the womb
    My first cry, it was a joyful noise
    Only love, only love can leave such a mark

    Yes! Only Love. ♥ Angi

  2. […] Seasonal soundtrack […]

Leave a Reply

