Your right to be right

I don’t know why this is such a pet peeve of mine lately. When people just have to have the last word, just have to prove they’re right — even when they’re not — GRATES ON MY NERVES.

Seriously, if your need to be right outweighs the social imperative to be kind to the people you love, or even just like, I suspect that you’re a jerk. I value your first amendment right say any jerky thing you need to say, but nobody says I’ve got to spend time with you.

As I’ve said before, the need to be right appeals to the perfectionist in me, so I don’t judge lightly. But I have to balance the right to be right against how hurtful people can be when that right really hurts my feelings. To be clear, I am a hard core first amendment proponent. I’m a first amendment aficionado. I support your right to be right. But like my plea for critical thinking, I want people to hold themselves to a better standard. Be kind. Okay, be kind when you can.*

The old proverb, “you catch more bees with honey than vinegar” comes to mind, but sadly some people I know really don’t care about kindness. Those are the people who grate on my nerves, I think.

*Dealing with this unknown self-proclaimed creditor on my car is my very own green light to open up a can of CRANKY when they won’t or can’t provide lien information.

4 thoughts on “Your right to be right

  1. […] kind of skipped a chapter in my crazy car drama. Let’s catch up with some highlights of this really complicated […]

  2. […] I generally avoid confrontation. Specifically and greatly, I don’t stand up for myself or call people out when they are mean. Therapy is arming me, once again, to  face fears realistically. I’m much more empowered to […]

  3. Rosie says:

    Woah! I’m really enjoying the template/theme of this website. It’s simple, yet effective.
    A lot of times it’s tough to get that “perfect balance” between usability and appearance. I must say you’ve done a awesome job with
    this. In addition, the blog loads very fast for me on Chrome.
    Excellent Blog!

  4. An impressive share! I have just forwarded this onto a colleague who was doing a little homework on this.
    And he in fact bought me breakfast because I discovered it for him.
    .. lol. So let me reword this…. Thank YOU for the meal!
    ! But yeah, thanks for spending the time to talk about this matter here on your
    internet site.

Leave a Reply

