Healthy AND Yummy?

In my recent creative efforts, I have accomplished my own version of a great recipe seen on Pinterest. I would not call this recipe easy — the clean up took me as long and the prep work. I’ve never cooked quinoa before; it’s pretty easy, but anytime I have to dirty another pan I grumble. But the make-ahead-ability of these cups is great.

These ham and cheese cups originally inspired me. I made quinoa cups with:

  • 2 cups cooked quinoa
  • 1.5 cups aged Irish sharp cheddar cheese
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 egg whites
  • about one cup frozen spinach
  • 5 pieces of turkey bacon
  • garlic, salt, and pepper

I mixed the eggs in the mixing bowl first, then I dumped in all the other ingredients and mixed them. It doesn’t look too appetizing raw, but it smelled really good!

Quinoa cups mixture

I poured the mixture into a muffin tin spayed with baker’s non-stick spay. I set the timer for 15 minutes, and they were just starting to bubble up:

quinoa cups baking

They started to brown about 20 minutes later, or a total of 35 minutes at 350. I let them cool for a few minutes before trying one. The results were pretty good! They weren’t as cheesy as I expected. I ended up with 1.5 cups of grated cheese, and the original recipe calls for only 1 cup. I got the nutritional info from MyFitnessPal.com*, and here are the stats:

Quinoa Cups, Ashley Edition

Number of servings: 12

Ingredients Calories Carbs Fat Protein
Protein – Egg, 110 g 140 1 10 13
Egg White – Boiled or Raw, 2 egg 34 0 0 7
Cheese – Cheddar, 1.5 cup, shredded 683 2 56 42
Oscar Meyer Louis Rich – Turkey Bacon, 5 Slices 175 0 15 10
Spinach – Raw, 1 cup 7 1 0 1
Total: 1039 4 81 73
Per Serving: 87 0 7 6

quinoa cups

These are really filling. I’m going to eat one less than I think I want. I’m also going to play around with other cheeses to find which ones go great with the quinoa.

BTDubs…

This week I started using MyFitnessPal.com and the iPhone app. This site and app are so much more user friendly and intuitive than SparkPeople.com. MFP also integrates with both existing Fitbit products. The great thing about Fitbit health trackers is that you can use them without a subscription, and they have a pretty inexpensive option for about $60.

I think a Fitbit tracker will be my birthday present to myself!

Leave a Reply

